Saxophone Forum

by karebear1012
(395 posts)
20 years ago

Improvise

Next year i'm going to be lead sax in the high school jazz band, and i'm really nervous because i'm a freshman, and a girl in a male-dominated group. I was wondering if you have any tips for improvising? Thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxgrobie
    (86 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Improvise

Hey girl! I feel your pain! hmmm . . . with improv, just pay attention to the chords, it normally helps to stay in those notes and definately stay in the key! Good luck. :) WOW, a first chair freshmen. . . impressive! Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

1. by bandgeek
      (11 posts)

20 years ago

hey! I was really nervous too when i first joined the school band, but it's really not so bad (even though it was mostly guys at my school too!) The improv. is nerveracking at first, but if u just think of the simple chord and center aroud a few notes it's easy! James Abersold books helped me alot too! hope it helps -Annie

Reply To Post AIM

1. by SaxMan
        (559 posts)

20 years ago

bad advice. Study theory and master it, then throw it out when you play, if you go completely by theory, you will be FAR too constricted. you dont have to stay in the chord, you can do chromatics and go to other chords a third above, depending on what kind fo chord you have.

Reply To Post

1. by wesmiller
          (55 posts)

20 years ago