Saxophone Forum

by jjquirante
(2 posts)
16 years ago

Need Help: Buescher Aristocrat VS Conn Transitional

I need help, I'm about to purchase a second hand Alto sax. I haven't played a sax before and I'm afraid to make the wrong choice. These are my only options based on what's locally available at a vintage shop: 1) C.G. Conn Transition serial: m247089 (247XXX is around 1931) Gold in the inside but outside, its silver plated. The seller said the owner had it re-plated. The plating is not the shiny type. I'm not sure what the treatment is called. From what I saw, the engravings became a little less distinguishable because of the replating. I'm not sure if that is a bad thing. I asked the seller to play it, and as soon as he did, i noticed a very rich and dark sound compared to the buescher below. I was hoping to find a silver sax when I decided to look for one, and I really like the tone of this one. When I told the seller I I'm new to this, he recommended the Buescher below instead of this one because he said the Conn is harder to blow. I would buy this one right away, but the fact that It was replated worries me. I did not see any signs of resoldering. PROS: I like the color, I like the dark sound especially in the lower registers CONS: Replated (not sure of this is infact a bad thing) 2) Buescher Aristocrat serial: 465922 (i think this means it was made between 1965-1970 pero hindi ko sure hehe) This one looks very well maintained (or unused). The sound is brighter and less dark (not sure if I'm describing it properly). It seems like it is in good condition. I found no engravings in this one. The color is bright gold - I think lacquer is that you call it. I know from research that this is also a good brand, but the fact that I have another option (Conn - where I like the sound and instrument's color) makes me real torn between the two. Aside from the fact that the seller recommended this one. PROS: Looks like this was well maintained since there are no major scr