Saxophone Forum

by MISaxGuy
(1 post)
15 years ago

Selmer Mark VI Soprano Saxophone

Hey guys, new to the forum. I have the opportunity to get my hands on a Selmer Mark VI Soprano Saxophone for around $2000. Is it worth it? Are there better quality horns out there? I've been playing the Alto for about 15 years professionally but never looked into Sopranos until now. I want to start trying some different stuff with my band and am looking for a good professional soprano sax. Thanks!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kelsey
    (930 posts)

15 years ago

Re: Selmer Mark VI Soprano Saxophone

I've owned 2 different Mark Vl soprano saxes. Both horns played flat in the upper register. I could play in tune but I really had to lip them up. I prefer the Yamaha professional line of sopranos although I play both a Mark Vl tenor and Alto. $2000. is probably a fair price....whatever, good luck............Kelsey
    Barry Kelsey

Reply To Post AIM

1. by MartinMods
      (63 posts)

15 years ago

If your soprano plays flat in the upper register, you can improve the register relationships by using a mouthpiece with a larger chamber. A larger chamber mouthpiece will make the horn play flatter. You will then have to push in more to get your A=440, which will make the whole horn a little shorter. The short tube notes (high notes) will then be proportionally sharper than they were before, in relation to the low register. Then the horn should play fine. I'd go for the Mk6. It's a great horn if you know what to do with it. This is because one must match the volume of the mouthpiece chamber to the theoretical missing cone, but that is "I'm smarter than you." stuff, which is really boring.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by kelsey
        (930 posts)

15 years ago

MartinMod, you all so full of it and yourself. The Mark Vl is a great horn, we agree there, but what's the comment about 'If you know what to do with it'? I certainly know what you can do with it!....Kelsey