Saxophone Forum

by saxyann
(4 posts)
15 years ago

intonation challenges

I have a Selmer Mark VI and my setup is a Meyer 5 hard rubber mouthpiece, a Rovner Ligature, and Vandorn (blue box) 2 1/2 reeds. I struggle with keeping my horn in tune. It's either way sharp in the upper register or flat in the lower. I can't seem to bring it into tune by lipping it tighter or looser. I'm not a beginner, but am far from being a pro either. I would appreciate any advice on the best way to conquer my tuning problems. Do I need a different horn?, mouthpiece, reed, etc. to make it easier? Thanks so much. My Selmer is a 1962 vintage.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by arcec
    (9 posts)

15 years ago

Re: intonation challenges

Saxyann, Cool horn, but those Mark VI's are very inconsistant. I owned one that was ok and I owned one that S8cked. The MarkVI is all about the ego. About four years ago, I purchased two new horns. and...... They say you can't be in love with two women at the same time!

Reply To Post

1. by saxyann
      (4 posts)

15 years ago

Thanks for your reply. I've been considering trading in my Mark VI, but, you're right. it's the ego. Anyway, I'm just curious what are your new horns and how are they with pitch consistency? Thanks again,

Reply To Post

2. by saxandbassplayer
    (42 posts)

15 years ago