Saxophone Forum

by rockhard
(13 posts)
19 years ago

The beloved Conn 10M - opinions?

I'm a Norwegian aspiring musician, going for pro, studying jazz in my country for the time being - in desperate need of a good instrument! On account of my own experiences and ideology, I've found that I want a vintage sax rather than a modern instrument. Considering the price, and the fact that so many of my fellow musicians are using this instrument, I think I've ruled out the Mark VI. I want an old instrument with character, but still a horn that gives me some freedom of developing tone colour, and of course well-built with good action. From what I've read, the Conn 10M sounds like a good alternative. Unfortunately, there aren't too many around (in my vicinity). After one week I've only located one, and it's on the other side of my country (luckily my country ain't that big ;)), but it's about to be sold. I may get the chance to try it out, and in that case I could at least have an opinion about that particular horn. So my question is: Are there great differences from one model to the next? Will my experience with this model (1958) be comparative to, say, one of the Conns sold here at saxquest? If anyone has an opinion on wether or not the Conn actually will be a good choice for me, feel free to share your thoughts...

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: The beloved Conn 10M - opinions?