Saxophone Forum

by Seth442
(9 posts)
19 years ago

Dark tone on alto

I am 19, and I am a freshman Jazz Saxophone major in college. I want to get a dark tone on alto. Most alto players play with a very bright tone (cannonball adderley, sonny stitt). Very few play dark. I prefer Kenny Garrett's tone, or Lou Donaldson around the period when he played with art blakey and clifford brown. I saw Kenny Garrett live once with Mccoy Tyner at Iridium and on this particularday he had an incredibly dark, deep, and "hard" tone. (as opposed to "soft" or "ethereal" like cannonball adderley) His tone was big, but had a very solid core, so he didnt get that "thin and loud" type of big sound. His tone on that day was better than he sounds on any recordings, and I still remember it. Tenor players whose tones I like are John Coltrane (he has a huge sound, and its very clear, dark with some bright overtones), Dexter Gordon (also a huge sound, and incredibly dark), or Joe Henderson (very dark, but with that really "hard" sound that I like). I like Lou Donaldson because his tone is "hard" and really punchy. I'm looking for advice on how to control the darkness/brightness of my tone with airstream and embouchure, and also about what type of equipment will help get a dark sound that still projects and that is punchy. I play mostly Jazz, but I also study classically in college and my tone is far too bright for classical saxophone. (I got put on jury probation for my classical jury, mostly because of my tone) For Jazz I play a meyer 5 with Vandoren Java 3.5s (I usually clip them). My jazz tone is relatively dark compared to other saxophonists, and it has that "hard" element. For Classical I play a Selmer C** with 3.5 vandorren blue box reeds. My classical tone is too bright, and doesn't have that core, so it sounds more "ethereal", like cannonball adderly even though I'm using a hard reed. I play Ravner dark ligatures with both setups, and a Mark 6 serial number 131xxx. Thanks in advance for