Saxophone Forum

by muzikman_wky
(17 posts)
18 years ago

Tips please :)

Hi. I have been playing the saxophone for almost two years now... I wanna know what practice routines to do besides the basics.. thanks much... Im also looking for a new old tenor saxophone..

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Tips please :)

Work on scales and fingers. There are a lot of really nice vintage horns. Conn, King, Buescher, Selmer and Martin all made some great horns. My favorite is the Conn 10M.

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by chiamac
      (586 posts)

18 years ago

meh, I'm not big on saying people should work on fingers or breathing... these will come with time - once you start seeing how much faster/better/good you play. Scales are a must though, since it will make runs and things A LOT easier to do later when you can play any given scale back/front/sideways. As for vintage horns... my vote goes to a '40s 10M, great horn!

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by markseez
    (17 posts)

18 years ago

a good routine (not technical) to do to improve breath control is to swim (lake sea pool whatever), do distance regurlarly for at least 20 minutes without touching the bottom of the pool, sea, lake and check the way you approach your embrochure, you should see a difference. Merry christmas to all of you people on saxquest and saxquest staff, have a great time, peace on earth...

Reply To Post

3. by llehctiMnairB
    (18 posts)

18 years ago

Scales are a must if you want to improve. Long tones are also a great excersize. Another thing i like to do is overtones. For example i will finger a low b flat and play a middle f, d, f, then b flat again. This helps me play in tone. I would also say that sight reading is a must. You will just becaome a better overall player the more you read.

Reply To Post AIM

1. by muzikman_wky
      (17 posts)

18 years ago