Saxophone Forum

by Sax_Shark
(134 posts)
18 years ago

Soprano Mouthpiece

I may soon be getting an Antigua Soprano and I was wondering what type of mouthpiece to buy for it. Is the Morgan that comes with it any good? I am looking for a versitale tone, not bright. I'll be playing the soprano in all types of settings - jazz, legit, etc. I currently have a Rovner Eddie Daniels lig for the sax. Should I get a different lig for the tone I want? Any advice will be greatly appriciated. Thanks

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Tsaxkid
    (29 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Soprano Mouthpiece

I don't know how good Morgan mouthpieces are. I've never tried one out before. With my soprano, I use an Otto Link tone edge (hard rubber) 5*. I don't recommend going to huge tip openings or using a metal mouthpiece. The Rovner Eddie Daniels ligature is the best on the market. Just switch around the plates and flaps to make it play just the way you want it.

Reply To Post

1. by tenor562
      (297 posts)

18 years ago

The Morgan mouthpieces are quite good. The Antigua setup that comes from Dave Kessler includes a Protone mouthpiece, which is Morgan's entry level mouthpiece. However, before buying a new mouthpiece for the horn, I would try the Morgan, as it is thought as possibly the best entry level on the mouthpiece. With the ligature, I'd stick with the Eddie Daniels. It's a top end ligature, and configure it for your sound, it will be fine.

Reply To Post

1. by saxjunkie89
        (393 posts)

18 years ago

but if you do not like the stock, get a Selmer S80 C*...

Reply To Post

1. by Sax_Shark
          (134 posts)

18 years ago

I've been warned not to go down that road. Why would that be?

Reply To Post

2. by tenor562
          (297 posts)

18 years ago