Saxophone Forum

by Tubby_Man
(48 posts)
18 years ago

Curved Soprano vs Strait Soprano

What are the differences between the curved and strait soprano apart from the shape? Are there any tone differences or anything?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by kledbet
    (1 post)

18 years ago

Re: Curved Soprano vs Strait Soprano

I find the curved plays more like a small alto. For some reason at least for me the high notes are easier on a curved model. You can also hear it better as the bell is angled towards you. I own a Yanagisawa curved 992 and a Rampone tipped bell Saxello (silver) and use and like both of them. Make sure you play both before you buy. Kevin

Reply To Post

1. by Radjammin
      (255 posts)

18 years ago

I have very little experience on Soprano but I do like the Curved Soprano more. For me, a curved horn is what I grew up on, having owned an Alto and Tenor and played significant Bari work. It just feels more like a sax to me. I have to admit sometimes it's hard not to use Clarinet fingering on a Straight Soprano by accident. Also I can get a richer sax sound on the curved one, I tend to give it body like an alto. On the straight model, the sound just tends to go to that round projecting sound like that of other simliar instrumets, clarinet and oboe. Maybe I don't have or want that classic Soprano high wine and prefer a more rich overtone focus down of a good Sax sound. Why should the Soprano have any different a tone standard then other saxes, it's just a 4th up and a little smaller?

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by Tubby_Man
        (48 posts)

18 years ago

I dont have a soprano (as I have only recently started playing) but would like to get one in the future. I think the curved soprano looks far better than the strait! I'm glad to hear that thier isn't much tonal difference.

Reply To Post

2. by Tenor_Guru
      (25 posts)

18 years ago