Saxophone Forum

by carly
(7 posts)
18 years ago

dont worry im new

hey, i've been playing alto sax for a couple of years now and i love it, but i'm still at school and haven't had the time to 'further my interests' in jazz until now. i was wondering if some of you knowledgeable guys could tell me where to start in terms of listening, as i don't really have a clue! i like most styles, but mainly jazzy and more upbeat pieces. thanks.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by saxplaya81
    (110 posts)

18 years ago

Re: dont worry im new

LOL! Very good point carly, I tell all my students if you wanna be a great player you have to think like one. You've playing long enough to where, Coltrane, Parker, etc should not be to a challenge to you at all, I mentioned michael brecker, coltrane, and james carter, but some other guys you should check out too would be Cannonball Adderly, and one of my personal favorites maceo parker, you'll really like him, those two are more soulful/funk players. Another thing you should try, especially if you want to get deep into the music, is to buy the artists transcription books and read along and finger the notes with the recordings. Then practice by yourself working to bring it up to tempo.

Reply To Post

2. by barisax999
    (400 posts)

18 years ago

where to begin... i could ramble on for hours on great CD's you need. first and foremost, im not a huge bird fan, but yardbird suite is a great album with outstanding improv. then of course John Coltrane's blue train and giant steps, 2 of the most influencial jazz albums of all time. kind of blue recorded by miles davis. the mingus 93' big band, Nostalgia in time square is my personal favorite of all jazz albums. pick up any sonny rollins album, they are all good. maynard ferguson's band has always had some good sax players, especially in the bari chair. woody herman, any album that has 4 brothers on it. thats a short short list, but should get you started