Saxophone Forum

by faulk_wulf
(4 posts)
19 years ago

Cheap Beginner Sax (Helmke)

Hello there. I am a new saxophone player, though not a new band member. I have played flute for many years but finally decided I wanted to be in Jazz Band too. So I picked up playing Tenor. The school's tenor I am borrowing is crap. I would like to purchase a new one. I discovered hordes of lacqured instruments on the internet, but the Helmke line on E-bay with the bright red lacquer caught my eye the most. I can find no online store(s), or many reviews for the brand. I take care of my instruments, so even low quality should surfice. The thing is, it's in my price range. I'm a HS student with a part-time minimum wage job. So I can't afford much. I am open to suggestions, comments, and critiques. (Regardless of it being Helmke or not, I would *REALLY* like it to be a red lacquered instrument- I mean why have a horn that looks like everyone elses? In my oppinion) Thanks. Talk to you later.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by hardrockcouple
    (1 post)

18 years ago

Re: Cheap Beginner Sax (Helmke)