Saxophone Forum

by Jazz Man
(9 posts)
19 years ago

and reeds

HI i have been playing the alto sax for 5 years and i was wondering if any of you could recomend a mouth piece and a reed for me curently i am using a normal jupiter mouth piece and a 2 and 1/2 vandoren reed

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by definition
    (963 posts)

19 years ago

Re: and reeds

Try out a Meyer 5M or 6M, and a size 3 reed

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by Jazz Man
      (9 posts)

19 years ago

Thanks for the addvice i will try that

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

1. by TrentG
        (15 posts)

19 years ago

If your still wanting some advice I use a Selmer C* and 3 1/2 Vandorian. I really don't like Ricos and do not recommend it.

Reply To Post

2. by barisax999
      (400 posts)

19 years ago

if your into jazz, the yanagisawa nickel size 7, or for classic, selmer C*. then either trdational blue box vandorens, and ZZ or V16 for jazz

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by The_§ax
        (147 posts)

19 years ago

If I were you I would work your way up strenghts. A Vandoren 1 1/2 is far too soft for any player. For classical I play on a vandoren 3 with a very old vintage Selmer mouthpeice that i cant read any of the writing off. I also play a Yamaha 7C mouthpeice for Jazz. Now reeds are tricky, I play on vandorens and also on Legere Synthetics, I reccomend Legere for people that play for ages and love adventuring for reeds cause these are really great!

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

19 years ago

A 1 1/2 should only be used with a very open facing, like a # 8 or 9. They're far too soft for a Selmer C* or a student mouthpiece. I like a #5-6 facing and a 2 1/2 -3 reed

Reply To Post Yahoo!

2. by barisax999
          (400 posts)

19 years ago