Saxophone Forum

by Saxerman
(7 posts)
19 years ago

My sax is out of tune the whole time

hi, i'm a freshman in high school and i play alto sax. Most of the time i play my middle range at band, but whenever i play the low D or lower or high D and higher, it gets very flat on da low notes and very sharp on the high notes. I tried everything to get it in tune, but nothing works. Please help me out here!!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by connsaxman_jim
    (2336 posts)

19 years ago

Re: My sax is out of tune the whole time

What kind of saxophone is this and what mouthpiece are you using? My guess is that you may want to try a different mouthpiece, but I need a little more info. Throw me a bone or two. Jim

Reply To Post Yahoo!

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

19 years ago

Yeah Jim is right, need way more info if you want us to help you

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by west
        (242 posts)

19 years ago

I actually think this guys pretty lucky. I don't know about the lower notes but Isn't it true that most people go flat on the higher notes?

Reply To Post

2. by Saxerman
      (7 posts)

19 years ago

I'm using a selmer C* mouthpiece with vandoren classic reeds with rovner ligature. I'm also using a saxophone brand called estee although i never heard of it. I'm probably sure that its a cheap taiwan saxophone. And i go sharp when i play my high D and anything higher

Reply To Post

1. by YanagisawA-901
        (312 posts)

19 years ago

well which is it homeboy?? u sed before u were flat higher then C now ur sharp?? do u even know what flat and sharp is?? if its really flat there may be a leak or somthin.. if its really sharp u just gotta develop your tone more and ull be able to hear it better.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM ICQ

1. by connsaxman_jim
          (2336 posts)

19 years ago