Saxophone Forum

by ecw31180
(3 posts)
18 years ago

Conn 10m serial number

i just bought a conn 10m with a serial number 327111L which doesnt make sense because ive never heard of a conn serial number ending with an L? It also says 10M PAT. APPLD. FOR B anyone have any idea what year its from and if its worth being restored?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by booker
    (1 post)

11 years ago

Re: Conn 10m serial number

Hi everybody. It's my first time posting, and thanks in advance for your help.
    My Tenor sax, A Conn 10M, 325xxx, has a litlle "V" engraved after the serial number. Anyone knows if that means anything?
    thanks again, Booker.

Reply To Post

2. by Radjammin
    (255 posts)

18 years ago

327111L - www.cgconn.com shows it produced at the end of 1947. One of the last 6Ms to be produced. The 6M pros start the next year. Does the bell have a naked lady on it? The 6M is normally called "Naked Lady" because of this artwork. The "L" Stands for Low pitched. Alot of Jazz players like the low pitched horns. I personally do. Some Legit players say they are hard to tune. Concerning restoring it, your not going to really turn a big profit. Depending on the restore, it might cost as mutch as the horns is worth to restore it. At the most they sell for 1200-1500, unless in prefect shape, then they tend to go for more to collectors. Saw a Chuck Berry Tenor (New Wonder II) go for 2600 on ebay but it was perfect looking.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by Djassoo
      (3 posts)

12 years ago

"The "L" Stands for Low pitched. Alot of Jazz players like the low pitched horns. I personally do. Some Legit players say they are hard to tune."

This guy above doesn't know what he is on about. Avoid his advice, it is, again, the blind leading the blind.

Yes. L means Low Pitched.