Saxophone Forum

by Cainesy
(1 post)
20 years ago

Signal Processors for Sax Players

Hi, This is my first post. Does anyone have any experience with Signal Processors for Saxophonist. I am now looking to get into this, but don't know where to begin. The only thing that I know for sure, is that whatever I do find or build must be portable. Any suggestion would definitely be welcome...

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by chiamac
    (586 posts)

20 years ago

Re: Signal Processors for Sax Players

I'm not a expert but I do have some input on this. Most effect units are rack mount and meant for midi or studio work... and the rest are meant to use with one hand free. just something to keep in mind.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

20 years ago

Here's a link to Sweetwater's guitar effects units. There's a number of pedal-based effect units that will add reverb, chorus, etc. and they're not terribly expensive. Of course, you'll need a microphone to lead into the unit. These effects units aren't just distortion boxes, either. Some of them are amazingly complex and programmable. Depending on what exactly you mean by "signal processing", you may have to go to a rack unit for such things as auto tuning. Most people are just looking for a good reverb/chorus unit to add some depth to the sound. www.sweetwater.com/store/category/c307/cp39

Reply To Post

3. by Dave S
    (1 post)

20 years ago

Depends on what you really want to do. I've given up the road and gotten rid of all the big stuff, but run a couple cheap guitar boxes to fatten up the sound when I play around town doing R/B and blues with local outfits. A fairly inexpensive setup is a good mic (I use an audiotechnica clip on) and a chorus and delay pedal. You don't want too much of either, just enough too fatten it up.

Reply To Post

1. by sax_maniac
      (984 posts)

20 years ago