Saxophone Forum

by Skylark
(27 posts)
19 years ago

i want to upfrade to new alto sax

high i am a sophmore in hih school and play in every band we got in he school, but i like jazz thew most and want to continue band into college and hopefully beyond. but i have been using a armstrong for 5 years and want to get a new one that will take me through at least college. and am thinking of buying a cannonball big bell globel, black nickel with silver keys. i played one and loved it it flored me to play it, i also played a selmer and dident lik ethe tone or response as mutch. so could comeone give a opinion of a good one to by, and if the cb is ok the price was 1700 makred to 1400 becuase we were there at the jazz fesetifel for school.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by SaxMan88
    (318 posts)

19 years ago

Re: i want to upfrade to new alto sax

Selmer. I don't know much about Cannonball, so don't ask me. Maybe you should try some other Selmers. Either that or pick up a Mark VI *laughs*. Seriously, if you want one that's going to get you through college, Selmer would be my first choice. Now I have to wait for Jim's (connsaxmanjim) opinion on this, but maybe some of his Conn's (10M? Chu Berry? Dunno that much about them, that's why you might want his opinion on them; and I know he hates Selmers *laughs*) So there, you have two. Selmer and Conn. I've also heard of Yamaha, Allora, and I think that's about it.

Reply To Post

1. by karebear1012
      (395 posts)

19 years ago