Saxophone Forum

by troymcclure
(10 posts)
19 years ago

Should I sell my two horns and get a better one?

I am just starting out on sax. I have a YAS-23 and an Elkhart buescher stencil that I just aquired. I was thinking of selling both of these horns and buying a vintage pro model. Is this advisible? Should I learn to play on the YAS first?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by sax_maniac
    (984 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Should I sell my two horns and get a better one?

If you are just starting out, I advise that you stick with the YAS-23 so long as it is in good repair. That horn will serve you for a very long time - in fact, you may never find a need to replace it at all. Vintage horns have their idiosyncracies that I think can create trouble for beginners that more experienced players can tolerate and deal with - without having to go to the repair tech everytime the notes don't come out like they used to. (Although there are those players who take their horn to the tech everytime it gets the sniffles - God Bless them...) Reliability is far more important than "coolness" when it comes to a beginning player.

Reply To Post

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

19 years ago

Those people keep the techs of the world in business

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

2. by SaxMan88
      (318 posts)

19 years ago