Saxophone Forum

by Mook
(6 posts)
19 years ago

What inspired you to play the tenor sax?

This is how it happened:I was walking on the streets of Washington D.C. when I saw an old man who had no home no nothing. He was playing the tenor sax. The sound was was so beautiful! I was certainly touched finding my one true sax! How about you??

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Spike
    (248 posts)

19 years ago

Re: What inspired you to play the tenor sax?

when i was very young, my dad gave me "in a silent way." So after listening to jazz, i wanted to play sax. In third grade, i started playing clarinet. Then in sixth grade, my band director asked if i'd learn tenor for jazz band. So i did. Then in sophomore year of high school, i realised I was really a soprano player.

Reply To Post

2. by xBabysaxgirLx
    (13 posts)

19 years ago

They said I couldn't do it. So I did it.

Reply To Post AIM

3. by eman19
    (131 posts)

19 years ago

Josh Redman. I played with him and got to see him perform and he sounded so awessome on his tenor, figured I'd have to get one and compare it to playing my alto

Reply To Post

1. by phathorn
      (165 posts)

19 years ago

my Mom had the albums "Kind of Blue" and "Stan Getz and JJ Johnson live at the Opera House". Wonder where I developed the love for tenor(and alto, for that matter. Cannonball rules!)

Reply To Post

1. by nectarios
        (20 posts)

19 years ago

John Coltrane is the reason I started playing the sax.

Reply To Post

2. by saxman1990
      (25 posts)

19 years ago

I was inspired to play, when at my sister's graduation the jazz band played for her school and I heard the tenor play. I thought it was the coolest sound ever.

Reply To Post

3. by bebogle
      (4 posts)

19 years ago