Saxophone Forum

by jbroad572
(46 posts)
19 years ago

It's frustrating not being able to speak

I know it will take awhile to get to the point where I can play what's going on in my head, but it seems so far away. I'm still learning my scales and can play them slowly and still have to think about playing the Eb, Ab, Db, Gb, and B major scales. The others I have down pretty much, but can't play them that fast. I know I need to work on arpeggio's and learning the chords. Does it get easier? Can you guys play through all the scales as fast and as easy as it is to play the C-scale? I play at church on Wed and Sunday night and most of what I play gets so repetitive , but that's because I'm not really sure how to play with the chord changes and what I can play. Since I can't play very fast I'm limited to just a few notes and holding them out. Every once in awhile I can get a few phrases down though. What frustrates me is the point that while listening to music I can hear exactly what I want to play, but I get the sax and I'm just like a deer in head lights. I know it will get better, but sheesh the road looks so long. Just wanted to post and see if any of you went through something similar.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by eman19
    (131 posts)

19 years ago

Re: It's frustrating not being able to speak

ditto on feeling that on occasions. Scales will get faster, its just practice. keep on trying and invariably you will get better. Time and practice are the keys to everything I think.

Reply To Post

1. by EL Seano
      (255 posts)

19 years ago

When it comes to anything that you have difficulty on, there is one simple rule. PRACTISE SLOOOOOOOOOOWLY. You simply can't be expected to rip all those scales/modes or chord changes at like 200 a minute. one time i spent 3 hours just learning majors sloooooowly, trust me, it works. I can rip em now :-)

Reply To Post

1. by The_§ax
        (147 posts)

19 years ago