Saxophone Forum

by Jellybean666
(31 posts)
19 years ago

Fingering {how wrong does that sounds eh?}

Sorry, i hate that word, but anyway, not the point... I have been playing the alto sax for about 6 months, and i picked it up quite quickly since i play the flute and the fingering is about the same, however, i prefer the sound of a tenor, but was told the fingering was different, and i dont have the time or brain capacity to remember fingering for a completely different instrument... But recently someone told me that the info i had been given was incorrect and the tenor has the same fingering as the alto... Is this true??? I woulds also like to try my hand at the soprano sax, but again... is the fingering the same.... Pleeeeeeeease let me know, cheers!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by wvujazzman
    (48 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Fingering {how wrong does that sounds eh?}

Jellybean, Your original info was indeed wrong. The fingerings for soprano, alto, tenor, etc. are all the same. The horns are pitched differently, but a Bb fingering on one is the same as a Bb fingering on any of the others. Eric

Reply To Post

1. by Jellybean666
      (31 posts)

19 years ago

Yay!! Thank you!! Now i can play!!.... all i need is a tenor and a soprano... hummm... to ebay!!! *runs off followed by the men in white coats*

Reply To Post

1. by The_§ax
        (147 posts)

19 years ago

riiiiiiiiiiggggghhhhhtt Men in white coats??

Reply To Post

1. by Jellybean666
          (31 posts)

19 years ago

Yeeea, the men in white coats, they've been after me for ages... keep trying to take me to a padded cell... it would be fun, but there is a severe lack of sharp, pointy objects...

Reply To Post

2. by EL Seano
          (255 posts)

19 years ago

I wouldnt get a horn of ebay, i made that mistake once. goto saxophones.co.uk

Reply To Post

3. by Jellybean666
          (31 posts)

19 years ago