Saxophone Forum

by pyro883
(7 posts)
19 years ago

Sax in $1200-$2000 range

I'm looking to buy a quality sax in the $1200-$2000 dollar price range. I've been looking mainly at the Yamaha 62II, Yanagisawa 901, and the Selmer LaVoix. Which do you prefer, or do you have another suggestion.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by eman19
    (131 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Sax in $1200-$2000 range

search the forum, there are tons of questions like this. I'd probably go with the yamaha myself

Reply To Post

1. by selmer 4evr
      (309 posts)

19 years ago

how long have you been playing ? what type of music interests you??

Reply To Post

1. by pyro883
        (7 posts)

19 years ago

I've been playing for 3 years and need a good quality sax for high school.

Reply To Post

1. by selmer 4evr
          (309 posts)

19 years ago

Don't be afraid but the best value out there is a Mark VII or a Yamaha 62

Reply To Post

2. by Bleeding_Gums_Murphy
          (55 posts)

19 years ago

Conn 6M. They're some of the best jazz horns out there and are generally found for under $2000. However, if you're absolutely bent on buying a new horn, then get a yamaha 62 or Custom Z.

Reply To Post

3. by blackfrancis
          (396 posts)

19 years ago

If you're just going to do jazz, pop, R&B and the like, truly, Conn 6M. If you have to do legit too, your needs will be different. There are those that like the Mk. VII, and lots of Yamaha fans out there too. Try some out and see which one suits you.

Reply To Post

4. by chiamac
          (586 posts)

19 years ago

will you keep playing into college, and will you be marching or pepbanding? you may want to get a "good" student horn for a while, then step up again in college.

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

5. by johnsonfromwisconsin
          (767 posts)

19 years ago

I'd choose the Yani. Three different options, four or more different responses. Which one do you like?

Reply To Post

6. by connsaxman_jim