Saxophone Forum

by RoYrOy
(51 posts)
19 years ago

Why Sax? Filosophy of sax

I don't know how you people think but I want your opinions!! First of all why the sax, and what do you think of it. You know, I really believe it to be one of the hardest instruments to play the right way. Sometimes I get into the groove, sometimes I feel like I'm battling a monster. Just in case i'm only beginning, I've been playing the sax for 2 years now. But I' ve been in music since I was small Anyways what about everyone else? What's your opinion? When you started how did you feel?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Sax_Shark
    (134 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Why Sax? Filosophy of sax

(So I'm told by several different people) The first music I ever heard was of saxophone. My mother played a tape in the delivery room that was of Kenny G. I think. So I've wanted to play sax all of my life. It was the first instrument I played and haven't been as passionate about any other instruments I've tried in the past. I think that reason is because of the soul that you have to put into the sax. I understand what you mean about battling a monster but stick with it. You have to give it a lot but the sax will give you so much in return.

Reply To Post

2. by saxophones_rock
    (13 posts)

19 years ago

I play lots of instruments including saxophone, piano, clarinet, and drums. (with a little smidge of trumpet.) My philosophy of the sax in placement between all of these instruments would be that it is the easiest to play save the piano. When I started playing sax, I was able to get a good tone quality fast. That may just be because I have a knack for woodwinds, though. The saxophone is definently one of the easiest woodwinds, though. Well, there is my 2 cents.

Reply To Post

1. by spifster
      (67 posts)

19 years ago