Saxophone Forum

by hgiles
(5 posts)
19 years ago

Best Bang for the buck (Tenor)

I am not a professional or an aspiring professional, but I want a really nice tenor that I can have just in case I want to pick it up again. I have had some vintage horns (Buescher, Mark VI, etc) when I played in college, but I think I may prefer a modern horns (easier to play, but character of tone is lacking) at this point. Given my situation, which brand do you think offers the best bang for the buck? Incidentally, preliminary research suggests Cannonball, Yamaha 62II, Yanagisawa 991 might be among the front runners...especially if I can find a used one!

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by phathorn
    (165 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Best Bang for the buck (Tenor)

Other possibilities.. Dave Kessler (kesslermusic.com) is clearing out a line of Cousenon horns from his store. They are actually a B&S stencil and might actually give you a bit more of that vintage tone with modern keywork.

Reply To Post

1. by hgiles
      (5 posts)

19 years ago

Yes, I found them. They are the Courtois stencil. I remember playing B&S some time back and to me they seemed to play just like a Keilwerth I had. It's a shame they didn't have a better marketing angle they seem to be great horns and worthy of consideration under the circumstances.

Reply To Post

1. by connsaxman_jim
        (2336 posts)

19 years ago