Saxophone Forum

by Michele
(1 post)
19 years ago

alto sax purchase for an 11 year old

Hi, I am new to your discussion, but was wondering....my son has been taking lessons for about a year and a half and loves the sax. I want to purchase one and have found a "Mirage Selmer SX60A" new and inexpensive. Is this sax good enough to grow on for 2 to 3 years?

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by seanprather
    (2 posts)

19 years ago

Re: alto sax purchase for an 11 year old

The Mirage Is a poor model for the Selmer Line. You need to get him into an instrument that will perform well for a level. The better the Instrument the more incouraged the child will be to continue. The resale value will also be greater in the Future. If you are going to get a student instrument like the Mirage, Then you should look at the Yamaha YAS 23. This model yamaha is by far the best student model and will be good enough for the next 2 to 3 years. This instrument will also be easy to sell for a good price. Talk to your local Repair man not a sales man about the best Instrument to get!

Reply To Post

1. by JZ
      (83 posts)

19 years ago

Sean P, you nailed it. " Talk to the repairman, not the salesman." Perhaps even further: Buy your horn from a store that has a good repair shop. If the store doesn't have a repair shop, go elsewhere. Also, if you ask about the repair shop, you'll seem like a more credible, informed buyer. Actually, you will be a more informed . . .

Reply To Post

2. by Radjammin
    (255 posts)

18 years ago