Saxophone Forum

by altosax4ever
(8 posts)
19 years ago

Over Practicing?

Hello All! I'm a high school freshman who wants to go into music performance on sax. I practice about 2-3 hours a day, on different scales, my solo for Solo and ensemble, and etudes. Is this sufficient time, or should I shorten it? Another thing, what should I practice? I want to play jazz, but I have no idea what to work on. What else should I do? bTW, please reply, I've posted on 3 other places and gotten no response. Thanks in advance! R

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by definition
    (963 posts)

19 years ago

Re: Over Practicing?

Jazz Starts with the scales, and listening to what other people have done with songs. I suggest getting a few books, "Around the Horn" by Walt Wieskopf, "The Charlie Parker Omni Book", and "Blues in all Keys" by Abersold. Then work on those and listen to music to help get ideas on how it applies, and to develop ideas on how you would like to use it. As for practice time, there is no such thing as overpracticing IMO. If your chops can handle it, go for it. Lastly, the most important thing is make sure you have a good lessons teacher that helps you learn what you want to learn

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by CMelodyMan77
      (26 posts)

19 years ago

I agree. Get some jazz books, Charlie Parker Omnibook, Aebersold improv books, and play out of those. Also get a private lesson teacher..that will help you A LOT! FORUMOFTHESAXES.MYFREEFORUM.ORG

Reply To Post

2. by chiamac
      (586 posts)

19 years ago