Saxophone Forum

by emazing
(2 posts)
18 years ago

A saxophone beginner...help?

Hey guys. I'm a bit new to the whole saxophone world, so bear with me and my limited knowledge about music..haha. A few months ago, I was sucked into joining my school's marching band by my friends, and considering that I did not know how to play an instrument, I become a member of color guard. During my first few days, I became good friends with one of the 'instrument playing' band individuals, only to discover that he played the most fantastic and gorgeous instrument I had ever laid my eyes on: A bari saxophone. I was instantly mesmerized by its sound, size...everything about it seemed amazing, and at that point it became my obssession to learn how to play such an instrument. After gathering information about it, I decided to start out by learning alto saxophone first just to get the jist of it. About a month ago I found a music shop not too far from me that rented saxophones at a reasonable price, and I rented a Conn for a month to see how I liked it. Ya know, just to see if I could really do it. Sure enough, I kept at it, practicing everywhere from 30 minutes to 2 hours everyday. My parents were really impressed, and they decided that it would be more affordable for me to get my own saxophone instead of continously renting one. After doing a lot of research, I noticed that everyone has different opinions and preferences about different brands/kinds of saxophones, so I cannot find a starting point for my search. So I was wondering, can anyone help me with my conundrum by reccomending any saxophones? I haven't had any problems with the Conn, but I'm hoping for something slightly better than a student model, because I'm hoping to keep this instrument for a long time (as I'm not too keen on spending money too often). In addition, it can't be ridiculously expensive either. But generally I'm open to anything, just so I know where to start my search. (And a random tidbit: If they are any