Saxophone Forum

by John316
(6 posts)
18 years ago

Sax on Ebay

I've seen a company from the UK selling brand new bari saxaphones on ebay and was wondering if anyone has heard of them? They claim to be made specifically for them and are professional quality...but I see in the background the boxes say "Made in China". I am new to this sax world, but heard that I should avoid Chinese saxaphones. Any help would be appreciated.

Reply To Post [Report Abuse]

Report Abuse

Replies

1. by Dave Dix
    (421 posts)

18 years ago

Re: Sax on Ebay

They make them especially for who will buy them. I would go with a well known name brand , secondhand or vintage Dave

Reply To Post

1. by John316
      (6 posts)

18 years ago

Thank you for your reply. Have you ever heard of the Amati sax?

Reply To Post

2. by MarkLavelle
    (300 posts)

18 years ago

I agree that the odds of getting a decent quality horn that way are not great, but that doesn't mean it's impossible, either. I recently got a pocket trumpet for my son from a guy in Australia (Storm Trumpets) who has them made in China to his specs. I knew it wasn't going to be pro quality, and I think the value/price ratio was perfect. There were several reasons I decided to take the chance: 1. he's totally up front about the Made in China part 2. he's got a good history of happy customers 3. the price was low enough it didn't seem like too big a risk I guess it's less likely to find Chinese saxes like that, but I'm curious to find out more about the baris you saw - what's the seller's 'name' on eBay?

Reply To Post

1. by definition
      (963 posts)

18 years ago

Steer clear of the ebay china stuff or anything there in a weird color, its mostly crap. Amati is one of the better asain horns. Not the greatest, but decent

Reply To Post Yahoo! AIM

1. by Dave Dix
        (421 posts)

18 years ago

Amati is Chech republic made not chinese and are reasonable quality but nothing special Dave

Reply To Post

1. by definition